Church of John the Baptist in Neukalen

Church of John the Baptist in Neukalen - photo: © Christian Pagenkopf
photo: © Christian Pagenkopf

The church is Gothic brick building and was built from 1285 to 1290. The altar was built in 1610 in renaissance style. The Baumann´s organ was erected from 1739 to 1742 and is one of the oldest organs of Mecklenburg. It was restored in 2003.

The from 1285 to 1290 built Gothic church is dedicated to John the Baptist. The 56 m high tower was built in 1439, an inscription at the westside of the tower points to that.  Roofing work were applied to the church tower in 1951, 1967 and 1994, in that already 3 generations of the company Zingelmann of Neukalen were involved. By renovation works in 1964 the tower-room was newly designed, a monument for the victims of the wars (1870-71, 1914-18 und 1939-45) was raised. The baptismal font dates from the year 1310 and was re-installed in the tower room in 2001. In 1520 the pulpit was built, it was moved during large renovations in 1890 from the south side to the north side.

The altar was built in 1610 in renaissance style, it takes up the whole hight and width of the east side of the church and showes two bigger depictions of the Cruzifixion and the Resurrection of Christ. Both groups and the figures of apostles are adopted from a late Gothic altar.
The current baptismal font was made in 1954 by the stonemason H. Berendt of Neukalen and installed in the altar room. The baptismal bowl of brass was made before 1858 and depicts the propagation of the birth of John the Baptist. Approximately 500 years old is the late Gothic pieta with Maria and Jesus, it was re-installed in 1963.

The organ was built by David Baumann from 1739-1742. It has 889 pipes. Several rebuilts were carried out. From autumn 2002 to spring 2003 the organ was restored by the organ building company A. Schuke from Potsdam. The old bells of the years 1583 and 1599 were in 1918 expropriated for war aims, in 1928 they were replaced by 3 new cast steel bells by the company Schilling und Lattermann.

The church is a single-nave Gothic brick building. The nave is 40 m long and 13 m broad and is eastward completed by an octogon.  The flat ceiling stretches along choir and nave without interruption. At the south side and both connecting parts of the eastern end there is a four-leaved frieze. At the tower, that carries a steep helmet with four pointed gables, there are late-Gothic blinds. An inscription at the tower points at the year of completion in 1439.

Altar, pulpit and organ are carved works of the Renaissance period. The altar was built in 1610. It is almost as broad and high as the east side of the church. The figures of Adam and Eve are adopted from an older Gothic triptych, added is a predella with three paintings. These show the Garden of Gethsemane, Eucharist and the bearing of the cross. Further, there are figures of the Twelve apostles, with chapters of the Apostle´s Creed written beneath each in Low German.

Source: Wikipedia / Kirchgemeinde Neukalen

Johanneskirche in Neukalen

Johanniskirche in Neukalen - Foto: © Christian Pagenkopf
Foto: © Christian Pagenkopf

Die Kirche ist ein gotischer Ziegelbau und wurde von 1285 bis 1290 erbaut. Der Altar wurde 1610 im Renaissancestil errichtet. Die Baumannorgel wurde von 1739 bis 1742 errichtet und ist eine der ältesten Orgeln Mecklenburgs. Sie wurde 2003 restauriert.

Die 1285-1290 erbaute gotische Kirche ist Johannes dem Täufer gewidmet. Der 56 m hohe Turm ist um 1439 erbaut, darauf deutet eine Inschrift an der Westseite des Turmes hin. Am Kirchturm wurden 1951, 1967 und 1994 Dachdeckerarbeiten durchgeführt, daran beteiligt waren von der Neukalener Firma Zingelmann bereits 3 Generationen. Bei Renovierungsarbeiten 1964 wurde der Turmraum neu gestaltet, es wurde ein Denkmal für die Opfer der Kriege (1870-71, 1914-18 und 1939-45) aufgestellt. Die Tauffünte stammt aus dem Jahr 1310 und ist 2001 im Turmraum wieder aufgestellt worden. 1520 wurde die Kanzel erbaut, sie ist 1890 bei größeren Umbauten von der Südseite auf die Nordseite versetzt worden.

1610 wurde der Altar im Renaissancestil erbaut, er nimmt die gesamte Höhe und Breite der Ostseite der Kirche ein und zeigt in zwei größeren Darstellungen die Kreuzigung und die Wiederauferstehung Jesus Christus. Die beiden Gruppen und die Apostelfiguren sind aus einem spätgotischen Altar übernommen. Das jetzige Taufbecken ist 1954 vom Neukalener Steinmetzmeister H. Berendt hergestellt und im Altarraum aufgestellt worden. Die aus Messing bestehende Taufschale ist vor 1858 hergestellt und zeigt die Verkündigung der Geburt Johannes des Täufers. Ca. 500 Jahre alt ist die spätgotische Vespergruppe (Pieta) mit Maria und Jesus, sie wurde 1963 wieder aufgestellt.

Die Orgel ist 1739-1742 von David Baumann erbaut. Sie hat 889 Pfeifen. Es wurden mehrere Umbauten durchgeführt. Von Herbst 2002 bis Frühjahr 2003 ist die Orgel von der Potsdamer Orgelbaufirma A.Schuke restauriert worden. Die alten Glocken aus den Jahren 1583 und 1599 wurden 1918 zu Kriegszwecken enteignet, sie wurden 1928 durch 3 neue Stahlgussglocken der Firma Schilling und Lattermann ersetzt.

Die Kirche ist ein einschiffiger gotischer Ziegelbau. Das Kirchenschiff ist 40 Meter lang und 13 Meter breit und wird östlich durch ein Oktogon abgeschlossen. Die flache Decke zieht sich ohne Unterbrechung über Chor und Langhaus. An der Südseite und den beiden anschließenden Teilen des östlichen Schlusses befindet sich ein Vierblattfries. Am Turm, der einen steilen Helm mit vier Spitzgiebeln trägt, finden sich spätgotische Blenden. Eine Inschrift am Turm weist auf das Baujahr 1439 hin.

Altar, Kanzel und Orgel sind Schnitzwerke der Renaissancezeit. Der Altar wurde 1610 gefertigt. Er ist fast so breit und so hoch wie die Ostseite der Kirche. Die Figuren Adam und Eva sind einem älteren, gotischen Triptychon entnommen worden, hinzugefügt wurde eine Predella mit drei Gemälden. Diese zeigen Gethsemane, das Abendmahl und die Kreuztragung. Weiter gibt es Figuren der Zwölf Apostel, unter denen jeweils Abschnitte das apostolischen Glaubensbekenntnisses in niederdeutsch stehen.

Quelle: Wikipedia / Kirchgemeinde Neukalen